2AM Photo

Leave a comment

March 24, 2013 by allsho

[Creative Writing Challenge: 2AM Photo @ The Daily Post]

Barcelona, Spain, July 2012.

Barcelona, Spain, July 2012.

It’s 2AM and my phone has just buzzed me awake, filling the room in white-blue LED light. I have a message. It’s a photo. No words, no explanation. Just a photo. This one.

It takes me a while to understand where I am, what I am doing there, who is sending this message and why.

It’s my friend Arnau. Ex-boyfriend, more precisely. We’ve spent our Sunday morning together. Actually, I came to Barcelona one day in advance so I could have a whole day to see my friends living here.

Morning at the beach with him and his friends, lunch with Annelies, Wolfi and Klaus, the Jerry Joint; afternoon with Sabine and Pilar, boy I should come back for good, girls don’t age down here (three years in London and I look like my aunt); dinner with the Imaginarium people.

And now Arnau again? Sending me a picture of the Font Màgica of Montjuïc? So what does that mean? That we could meet there now?

I’ve always thought Arnau could be interested in a reminder of what our golden times were, five years ago. And I probably wouldn’t mind either.

But tomorrow is Monday and I’ve come here for work. If he thinks I would get out of bed now, get dressed, call for a taxi from Sarrià to Plaça de Espanya at half-past two in the night like a horny teenager, and then let myself be abducted to some place beyond Llobregat where he lives now, well I’ve wasted my morning and he’s wasted the last five years, I can tell you.

I’ll just take a picture of my pillow, add a goodnight kiss and reply right away. Sorry Arnau.

Leave a Reply

Visitors read…

Back to the Blog

Il blog che viaggia nel mio tempo... ridendoci un po' su

Babù

Pittura, Fotografia, Illustrazioni di Francesca Bartalucci

Seicappelli

cos'hai in testa?

testuali parole 2.0

bisettimanale di critica letteraria

khepri65

vivi e lascia vivere

Il nuovo mondo di Galatea

Diario ironico dal mitico nordest

Pinocchio non c'è più

Per liberi pensatori e pensatori liberi

Opinionista per caso Viola

Io amo L'Italia ,io amo L'Albania, io amo L'Europa e il mondo intero.. .siamo tutti di passaggio in questo pianeta,quindi non bisogna essere egoisti,avidi,ma bisogna essere generosi con chi è meno fortunato di noi...io dono serenità se non ho cose materiali da offrire...basta anche un sorriso ...

In punta di piedi

Entra in punta di piedi e spia nel buco della serratura

Alterego Blog

Alterego non è il solito blog

Lola Ivana

Around the world

L'autore spocchioso

Chi non salta un lettore è, è.. chi non salta un editore è, è..

Niente stronzate ©

Lo stabile specchio di un evanescente diario

Il Vecchio Mente

Memorie di uno scrittore dell'immaginario coi Baffi.

Frank Iodice

Amare o parlare d’amore: soltanto una cosa ti sarà concessa.

Hic Rhodus

Rivista di argomenti e logica civile

Insegnanti 2.0

Insegnare nell'era digitale

